Mamak, Chatswood

This post was supposed to be up a while ago, but my awesome meal was followed by a not so awesome car crash ): With the poor girl needing to be put down.
But in any case, I’m sure Mamak does not need an introduction, nor do I need to remind everyone how good the roti is. I’d only ever been to the shop in the city once, when I was roaming the streets at 2am on a Saturday night during my ‘younger’ party days, and even then I just watched as others wolfed down the food. The lines were always too long and parking too difficult to come across in the city. So when I heard that Mamak was opening in Chatswood I had to go and give it a real try. I went there three times the week that it was opened. No obsession there.

null Kari sayur, $13
Vegetarian curry cooked with lentils, fresh tomatoes, carrots, potatoes and eggplant.
I love tomatoes in curry! They’re so juicy and melt in your mouth :) and this was a nice mild curry.

null Nasi goreng, $10.50
I eat nasi goreng way too much, but this one was light and not as greasy as the ones I usually buy.

null Roti planta, $6
I forgot to try this one, since I was too busy waiting for my roti canai to arrive ):

null Nasi lemak. $7.50 + curry chicken, $3
Getting curry chicken is definitely a much better idea that the first time I came, and got the fried chicken. At least the curry chicken gave it some sauce so the rice wasn’t so dry. The vegetarian curry also helped :)

null Roti canai, $5
Yay, this is basically the only thing I order when I go to Mamak, since I need to save room for the roti tisu :D

null Chicken + beef satay, $14/doz.
I wish I’d gotten a better picture of the satay sticks but they were at the other end of the table and I was too busying digging into my roti, and I’m some what ashamed to say, I don’t eat/enjoy satay anything. ):

null Roti tisu, $9
I’d never ordered this before, only seem photographs. So we ordered one between four of us + 3 extra scoops of ice cream for 50c each. It was not enough tisu ): the next time I went back we ordered one between two. Still not enough. Note for next visit: one each!

null Cendol, $5

So yeah, if you’re not into long lines, the Chatswood Mamak is the place to go. But just to be safe, get there early anyway :P

..and now back into my hole to study.

Mamak
Shop P9, 1-5 Railway St
Chatswood, NSW 2067
Mamak on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Mamak, Chatswood

  1. chocolatesuze 8 November, 2010 / 1:07 am

    oh dear sorry to hear about your car crash hope you’re ok! mmm roti makes things better def get condensed milk with the roti tissue next time!

Leave a Reply

