A La Façon de Shimizu, Willoughby

null
I somehow came across this little gem about one and a half years ago. It is situated right on the main road, yet the banner draws little attention and unless you were looking for it, would probably walk right by without noticing.
It is a fusion of Japanese and European cuisine cooked to perfection. This little shop has a chic decore with a warm glow about it, and the Japanese waiter greets you readily as you enter the door.

null

You are given a jug of tap water which has been purified by bamboo charcol, and even manages to remove the taste of ‘tap’ from the water.

null Sour-dough bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil
You get free sour dough bread after your orders have been placed; it comes warm, with a crunchy crust with firm yet spongey dough. It is not overly sour like many other sour doughs that I’ve been served at other restaurants. This hits the spot, and you really have to try it to believe how good it really is. It’s also good if you have whiney bfs who cant seem to have an empty stomach for anything more than 1 minute.

null Scallops & Kiwifruit Carppaccio, $17
Sliced fresh Scallops and kiwi fruit served with grapefruit dressing.

nullFresh Salmon Tartare, $17
Fresh salmon and avocado tartare with dill, caper and olive. Served with wasabi-mayonnaise and bread.

Grilled Lamb cutlet with Miso Sauce, $27
Lamb cutlet marinated with garlic and herb-oil. Served with Shimizu’s original miso sauce. I thought that the miso sauce had a very strong taste, and the lamb very fatty, but it went perfectly with the buckwheat salad which really helped to balance the strong flavours of the rest of the dish.

null
null

Beef Asparagus Roll, $27
Asparagus and carrot rolled with thinly sliced scotch fillet, grilled with teriyaki sauce. When this long dish comes out of the kitchen it always manages to hush some of the chatter in the restaurant.

null Home made chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream (served warm), $8
But there was no ice cream T__T It was sad, but I made do. I love this cake, and always regret it if I leave the restaurant without having ordered it. It’s spongey and moist and not too sweet. Or maybe because its such a good portion that I don’t mind that it’s a bit sweet.

nullCreme brulee, $9
I love how Shimizu presents their desserts :) mostly coz I love blueberries, and its always nice to be surprised by little pieces of fruit when all I expected was the dessert I ordered :) I managed to shovel in way more than my fair share of dessert. Both of them were so good that I couldn’t help myself. So lucky that I shared my lamb earlier pre-emptively so he would be full, and I would get more dessert

I would say if you’re in the area, definitely give Shimizu a try. They have also a $35 banquet menu, for their anniversary, as well as blackboard specials (if you’re lucky the snapper salsa will be on the board; its SO good).

A La Façon de Shimizu
537 Willoughby Road
Willoughby NSW 2068
T: (02) 9958 8785
A la Fason de Shimizu on Urbanspoon

One thought on “A La Façon de Shimizu, Willoughby

  1. happynomnomnom 20 October, 2010 / 10:02 pm

    I’ve seen this place before. It’s within walking distance from both of us. For a place that I thought was relatively deserted, the food looks quite fresh and vibrant, or is that just your camera?

Leave a Reply

