Cantina Bar + Grill, Darlinghurst

I cannot stress enough how much I love tapas! You get to try such a large variety of dishes, despite only having 2 people for dinner. So when it was my turn to pick what was for dinner, I could not pass up the opportunity to try out Cantina. A friend of ours had recommended we try this place after having a very rushed meal at Encasa a few weeks back.
You can’t really see it here, but I love the seating in this place. When I’m out having a dinner with the bf, I don’t like sitting opposite to each other, so I was elated when I saw the ‘L’ shaped corner lounges. :) :)

Sangria ½ carafe, $15
…and of course, I like to start with some Sangria. I opted for only the half litre as I was supposed to get back early to work on assignments and the like. (I didn’t though in the end, if you were wondering)

Sonoma sourdough (w/ extra virgin olive oil & caramelized vinegar), $4
The bread was actually really sour, but I love sour so I’m not complaining, just noting. Coupled with the olive oil and vinegar = ♥

Patatas bravas, $12
I’m sorry, I can’t have tapas without ordering patatas bravas! The only bad thing was it didn’t come with the creamy sauce that most other places have. But no fear, the calamari (below) sauce came to the rescue!

Air dried wagyu beef (w/ red pepper, paprika & chimichurri sauce), $20
Fluffy, tender, juicy, what more could you ask for? Oh right, more of that delicious chimichurri sauce please!

Dusted calamari (w/ chilli & lime mayo), $17
This dish. So. Much. Sex. I could eat only this for days, and the sauce, YUM. *dreams*

Spicy grilled baby back ribs, $16
This was on the specials menu for the night. I love ribs so much, but for shame! The waiter lied when he said we should order more food. At this point I was eating very slowly in hopes I could trick the bf into eating my share also, but I felt so bad, because like I said, I freaking love ribs and these tasted so damned good. Could’ve been more spicy, but I reiterate, damned good.

Crema catalana (w/ vanilla & cinnamon & burnt sugar top), $9 (I THINK)
Yup, just creme brulee. But I don’t like cinnamon… so I didn’t eat much more than 2 bites. It was still very nice and fluffy. (I opted for churros, but got none *Sad face*)

That’s yet another Spanish restaurant down, many more to go! I’ve already got a few more in mind *excitement*

Cantina Bar + Grill
245 Oxford Street
Darlinghurst, 2010
T: (02) 9357 3033
Cantina Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Cantina Bar + Grill, Darlinghurst

  1. jnyw 18 September, 2010 / 1:41 pm

    hahaha i’m interested in that dusted calamari now ;)

    and same here! i don’t like sitting opposite the bf =/

  2. Julie 30 June, 2012 / 9:07 pm

    I recommend Kika (cute decoration, nice staff) on Victoria st, Darlinghurst, Raquel’s on Oxford St, Hernandez Cafe on Kings Cross rd for churros and coffee it’s open 24hrs, Muse in Summer Hill is also good for tapas. Soni’s in Newtown is good value and I’ve yet to try El Bulli in Surry Hills but have heard good things about it, Porteño is also high on my list for Argentine food

    • jnyw 9 December, 2012 / 11:08 pm

      Wow thanks for the recommendation! I’m currently on a [san] churros addition so will be trying out those places too!

Leave a Reply

