Skip to content

Sepia, Sydney

30 May, 2011

We ordered the lunch set menu which included 4 courses for $110 and for the first time ever, I would say it was fine-dining money well spent (although my money wasn’t really spent… ^o^)!

Lovely comfortable interiors, relaxed atmosphere perfect for all occasions from business lunches to romantic dinner dates (yes I will definitely be taking Mr TH very, very soon). The waitstaff were wonderful and down to earth – not the arrogant attitude one may often encounter at a fine dining restaurant… (not going to mention any names…)

“Scallop sushi” – Nori rolled scallop, pickled ginger, puffed sushi rice, avocado cream

Yummy scallops. If there are scallops on the menu, never fear – I’m all over it! These were delicious and perfectly seared. I know the exterior doesn’t look very appealing but they were delicious! Along with the avocado cream and pickled ginger. Absolutely amazing and I was blown away by how it was so delicately presented. Love that detail!

Butter poached cuttlefish, candied watermelon rind, ink bread, mandarin oil, plum wine and green tea

I’ve never found it most appealing when food is present with froth on the top. Regardless, I dug into the dish and noticed the strong mandarin taste which really added a tangy twist to the dish. The first time I actually had raw cuttlefish and now I’m hooked – was so fresh you would be able to feel it crunching in your mouth!

Roasted pasture fed Angus beef tenderloin, braised short rib, buffalo milk “tofu” sansho roasted quinoa, garlic flowers – medium cooked

I love it when steak is beautifully cooked – I get so nervous when I am asked how I would like my steak cooked. Sometimes I want medium and it comes out medium-rare. Other times I order medium-rare and it comes out well done. Well never fear, at Sepia, the steak was delivered exactly the way it was ordered. Our table had ordered both medium and medium-rare tenderloin and I was pleasantly surprised to find them both clearly distinguishable when they arrived. The “tofu” was a bit strange but I couldn’t have loved the garlic flowers more.

“Chocolate forest”
Soft chocolate, chestnut, elderflower cream, mandarin and bergamot sorbet, blackberry candy
green tea, licorice, chocolate twigs, crystallised lemon thyme

Chocolate paradise. There aren’t any better words to describe it! The soft chocolate in the description is actually a pile of rich chocolate mousse-like substance at the very bottom of an interesting pile of chocolate twigs all balanced out by strong flavoured fruity sorbet.

Overall I would highly recommend this place and can’t wait to go again!

 Sepia
201 Sussex St
Sydney 2000

Sepia on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

