Skip to content

Toraya, Chatswood

12 January, 2011

Happy New Year everyone! It’s been a while but I’m back from my holiday and still alive! Unfortunately I got sick on holidays so wasn’t able to enjoy all the food and flavours of Asia. Alas never fear, there’s always next time…

So a few nights after getting back, the boy and I decided to dine at Toraya – one of our frequent dining spots in Chatswood Mandarin Centre. Toraya is casual dining yet the food a bit exquisite so I guess that’s why I’m always back for more (even though I think it’s quite pricey!)

Green tea

Complimentary seaweed

A little complimentary seaweed just to get your appetite working if you’re not too hungry.

Tontoro – lightly salted grilled pork neck skewers ($7.50)

These skewers are perfectly grilled and still sizzling hot when served! It’s the first time I’ve ever ordered Tontoro – a nice balance of crunchy and slightly fatty pork neck which I can definitely see myself ordering again in the future!

Soft-shell crab ($15.80)

The boy’s usual favorite – soft shell crab – was quite a disappointment this time. It didn’t seem battered enough and was soggy to eat. I’m not sure whether it’s always like this since we usually order the spider roll (soft-shell crab sushi roll) so we’ve never really noticed. I guess we won’t be ordering the dish by itself again.

Wagyu steak ($26.00)

My all time favourite! The steak usually comes out while still cooking with steam coming from the hot-plate but tonight it was already finished cooking by the time it reached our table. Nevertheless, it was still perfectly cooked (medium rare… yummmmmmy), sprinkled with radish and shallots and served with potato roe mash and fried lotus slices on the side.

Miso soup ($3.50)

Yummy miso soup – another favourite!

Rock’n Roll ($15.00)

California roles made awesome with oven-baked scallops and a generous topping of creamy mayonnaise. What more could you ask for? My favorite dish and ordered every time!

Black sesame and Green tea ice-cream ($6.00 each)

Black Sesame Pudding ($6.00)

I was greedy for dessert and between the boy and I we had three desserts!! The black sesame and green tea ice cream was deliciously creamy whilst the black sesame pudding had a strong authentic flavor however I’m not really one to appreciate real big chunks of black sesame bits in my pudding.

The wait-staff seem to be so busy but they are always very nice when you actually get their attention. And sure ,the place is a bit expensive but still worth a try – I know I’m definitely going back sometime soon ^___^. Hope you enjoyed my post!

Toraya Japanese Restaurant
Mandarin Center
61-65 Albert Avenue
Chatswood, 2067
T: (02) 9884 9620

Toraya Japanese Restaurant on Urbanspoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. JGD permalink
    13 January, 2011 11:58 pm

    Hi jnyw,

    We’re maintaining the Mandarin Centre’s FaceBook account and we’d love your review to be featured on our FaceBook Page. Would you mind if we add a blurb of this review of one of our restaurants and use a few of your lovely photos? Credit will be given where it’s due, of course.

    • jnyw permalink
      15 January, 2011 1:06 am

      No problems. I’m flattered!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

