Skip to content

Pier, Rose Bay

15 December, 2010
by

It’s that time of the year again, anniversary time! I leave it up to the boy to decide on the restaurant; its only right since he is the one paying.

It is a Saturday night and it’s nice to be away from the CBD for a change, and we were surprised at how easy it was to find parking despite Pier being situated on such a busy road. We parked pretty close by, but still far away enough to get in the sights before arriving at the restaurant.

null

Despite having booked two weeks earlier we still didn’t manage to get a nice table near the end of the pier *sad face* And it was quiet as well, as the only table we could book was for 8:30. My guess is they just didn’t want us taking up a four seater table. *more sad face*

Complimentary Sourdough :)

null Cones of Yellow Fin Tuna and Kingfish, $8/cone

I must admit, the cones I had at Ocean Room were tastier than these ones; not saying that these are bad because they weren’t. The tuna cone was a little on the salty side compared to the kingfish one (which was mine).


Roast Scallops, $29

The scallops here were juicy and firm, without being chewy. I’m not much of scallop fan but the mushrooms were cooked perfectly and buttered!

null Pastrami of King Salmon, $26

This would be my favourite dish of the night. I was served with toasted bread and olive oil. It wasn’t too heavy and I love anything with lemon :)

null Roasted Barramundi, $45

The skin of the fish was gorgeous; the crunch complimented the soft texture of the fish so well. The boy stole one of my baby beetroot though. *hate*

Confit of Ocean Trout, $44

The best part of this dish were the crushed peas :P they had a certain zing to them.

null
Side of Fries, $10

null
Tasty dessert, white chocolate something?, $20

I can’t remember the name of the dessert ): I think it was white chocolate, and it had raspberry sorbet and coulis. It was divine! The little balls of white chocolate were soooo sweet but the sourness of the raspberries helped to balance it out a little. I’m usually a huge dessert hog but I’m glad I opted to share this with the boy instead of having us each order our own dessert!

null
We ended the night with a nice stroll back to the car, stopping awhile to enjoy the view. I’d say it was a nice experience, but I not sure I could deal with just big slice of fish for a main course on a regular basis; I don’t know how people do it. Although there were other things on the menu I want to try, so we’ll see :)

Pier
594 New South Head Rd
Rose Bay, NSW 2029
T: (02) 9327 6561
Pier on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. 22 December, 2010 6:18 am

    Some great pics! Such a pity you missed out on a table at the far end- where you sit can make such a difference to how much you enjoy a meal…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

