Skip to content

Spanish Tapas Restaurant, Glebe

14 September, 2010
by

It’s a Friday night and I’ve just finished a long day at uni, and a dinner with a mate was long overdue. With both of us having eaten not too long ago we scoured Urbanspoon for something light, and decided on tapas. Now, I hate walking, so I decided against any located in the CBD, and opted for Glebe Point Road, as it was closer and had free parking not to far from it.

This place looks deceptively small when you’re standing on the street looking in, but there is a whole back section. The back section seems like a nice place to sit, were it a breezy summer night, as opposed to the cold night that it was. But the atmosphere was still very nice, and considering that we were dining early, we had the place almost all to ourselves :)

Sangria – 0.5 litre, $11
Not the best sangria I’ve had, but I needed the alcohol for what was to come. I’m not happy about this review, because I really don’t like saying bad things about places I’ve visited, but I want to write (my) truth


Chilli Bread, $4
I loved this bread! I could just come back and order an entire bag full for take away for me to eat back at home. initially our first reaction was ‘…so where’s the chilli…?’ But after a while it kicked in =] tasty =]


Albondigas a la española (meatballs cooked in tomato sauce), $12.50
There are four meatballs somewhere hidden under all that tomato sauce! They were actually pretty big. If you join the tips of your thumb and finger together, that’s about the size of it. They were a bit dry, and mate thought they tasted gamey. I guess its personal preference. The sauce was nice though, and went well with the mushrooms (below).


Patatas bravas (potatoes in spicy tomato sauce), $11
,I can never go to a Spanish restaurant without ordering patatas bravas :) but I’m sorry to say that these just tasted like diced potatoes that they put in the microwave. It’s not a good feeling to be peeling off the skin from the rest of the potato ):

Champiñones rebozados (crumbed mushrooms), $12
These mushrooms were nice (relatively). They did taste a lot more like mushrooms when they were cold. But it was a cold night, and I wanted hot food ):

Alas de pollo al ajillo (chicken wings cooked in garlic and white wine sauce), $10
Basically this tasted like wine. Well I suppose it’s what I ordered. It might be just my taste buds, but there wasnt much else to it. Yup, chicken textured wine…

Churros Con Chocolate, $8.50
These churros made me sad ): They were obviously hours, maybe even days, old. My guess is that the chocolate dip was just microwaved again to remelt the chocolate… very poorly. There was a layer of oil on the top. From the chocolate being remelted? so disappointing ): and did not curb my churros cravings at all ): ):

In all honesty, if I had the ability to decide again where I opted to have dinner, I definitely would not have chosen the eat here. Though I would like to mention, it may be a whole other story if I were to have a group event, where $55 pp would get us all unlimited sangria and soft drinks… assume the point of my event would be to drink and not to eat good food.

But ahh, I feel bad writing this up, but there’s no point lying about it ):


Spanish Tapas Restaurant
26 Glebe Point Road
Glebe 2037
T: (02) 9571 9005
Spanish Tapas on Urbanspoon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jnyw permalink
    14 September, 2010 6:37 pm

    hmm what a shame… I would’ve thought restaurants in glebe are pretty good… you should review En Casa!

    • 14 September, 2010 7:20 pm

      I just ate there like 2 weeks ago, but forgot all my cameras ): For shame ):

  2. 14 September, 2010 10:24 pm

    I recommend Cantina Bar and Grill in darlinghurst for awesome spanish food! I promise you won’t be disappointed…one of my all time favs. :)

    • 14 September, 2010 10:27 pm

      You must be a fortune teller, or mind reading… or something.. since I did just go to Cantina the other night following this dismal night D:

  3. henry permalink
    15 September, 2010 11:16 am

    encasa was better than cantina i reckon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

