Skip to content

Chedi Thai Restaurant, Newtown

1 September, 2010
tags:
by

Thai

Chedi: probably one of my favourite places to eat. It is bustling on a Friday and Saturday night being situated on Newtown’s Kings Street. It also provides a calm, relaxed place to dine any other day of the week. The wait staff are always friendly and energetic, and Greg and Shanya are wonderful people who have the ability to make everyone feel warm and welcomed.


Green Mango Salad, $15
Always a good dish, though I usually order it with the soft shell crab.

 

null

Fresh Corn Patties served with tangy plum sauce, $12
One good thing about sharing a table with a vegetarian is that they will notice things that I normally wouldnt myself. Here is a prime example. I mean, c’mon, corn patties? I would never have ordered them… but now, three days after the meal, I’m still aching for more.

 

null

Spring Rolls (4 per serve) served with tangy plum sauce, $7.50
I’ve never ordered so much vegetarian in my life! But they were all soooo goood.

 


Tom Yum Fried Rice with Prawns, $18.50
The serving was much too small for something so delicious! I love spicy food and this hit the spot.

 

null

Seasonal Vegetables with Silken Beancurd, $16
Yet another vegetarian dish that I’m happy to have ordered.

 

null

Crispy Pork with Chinese Broccoli, $17.90
Gorgeous. The pork was crispy, but not dry. My only regret, not ordering the crispy pork with chilili and basil instead to curb my chilli cravings!

 

I said it before, and I’ll say it again, great food and service; a great place for both a nice or casual night out. Chedi also provides free secure parking upon request and appointment, which is a bonus since it is located in Newtown.

Chedi Restaurant
74-78 King St
Newtown, 2042
Sydney, Australia
T: 9516 1127

Chedi on Urbanspoon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 September, 2010 9:45 pm

    ooh that’s nice that they offer ‘hidden’ parking spots! also i love all things corn so would def give those corn patties a go!

  2. Catherine permalink
    1 September, 2010 10:06 pm

    ohhh sounds delicious! especially the corn fritters!
    Newtown got sooooo many Thai restaurants it’s sometimes hard to choose which one to eat without a recommendation from others so thanks for the review!

    the only place I’ve been at newtown is Thai Pathong – it was soooo good!

  3. henry permalink
    3 September, 2010 1:25 am

    the red duck curry there is nice also
    and so is the deep fried whole barramundi!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

